T O P

Unplayable Lie question

Unplayable Lie question

MiamiFootball

you can take unplayable drops until they drag you off the course


MFAWG

Yup. Sometimes it’s actually a smart play. A playing partner duffed his tee just off to the front of the tee box, inbounds but in a really terrible position. I ‘advised’ him that one of his options was to declare the ball unplayable, take his stroke and distance and retee.


Teddyturntup

Yes, but if you want to use it to get *out* of a bunker it’s an extra stroke (over the normal 1 stroke)


Kickwax

You can take relief for an unplayable ball anywhere on the course at any time you wish, except for when the ball is in a penalty area. But in that case you can take relief from the PA.


kjtobia

Pretty sure you can take relief from an unplayable lie in a penalty area though I'm sure it would have to be an obscure situation where relief from the penalty area is that different than unplayable relief.


Kickwax

The Rules of Golf disagree with you, Rule 19 to be more precise.


kjtobia

Rule 19.2. Lateral relief in "any area of the course".


Kickwax

Yes, the relief area can be in any area of the course. That doesn't change the fact you can't take relief for an unplayable ball lying in a penalty area. You must play the ball as it lies or take relief from the PA.


TheBiles

[Literally rule 19.1.](https://i.imgur.com/KmvFdFt.jpg)


kjtobia

Fair enough. Thanks!