T O P
Rhode15

[New Hampshire](https://www.nhsp.dos.nh.gov/sites/g/files/ehbemt461/files/inline-documents/sonh/dssp260.pdf) is the easiest you can obtain through the mail since it does not need any training, photo or fingerprints. However, it doesn’t have the best reciprocity compared to others. [Flordia](https://www.fdacs.gov/Consumer-Resources/Concealed-Weapon-License/Applying-for-a-Concealed-Weapon-License#bymail), [Arizona](https://www.azdps.gov/sites/default/files/media/07202%20-%20CCW%20Permit%20Application%20-%20Fillable.pdf) & [Utah](https://bci.utah.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/15/2021/05/CFP-app.pdf) will give you better reciprocity but all three require you take a training class. All can be acquired through the mail. NOTE: The Florida permit is the only CCW permit that will allow you to carry in Florida. Also, Utah makes you take their special class by a Utah certified instructor while Florida and Arizona accept a wide range of training courses including NRA and hunters safety. [Maine](https://www.maine.gov/dps/msp/sites/maine.gov.dps.msp/files/inline-files/Complete_Application_NonRes2021%20%281%29.pdf) and [Virginia](https://www.vsp.virginia.gov/Firearms_NonresidentConcealed.shtm) can also be applied for through the mail with a basic in-person training course. However both lack in reciprocity compared to FL, AZ, UT and the ease of NH.


PewPew247365

I really hope one day we will have a nationwide reciprocity but there might be a better chance of winning this weeks powerball drawing . Currently waiting for CT to send me my application paperwork (it’s been more than a month now). I was planning to apply for AZ, but I’m holding off until I get my other non-res.


Rhode15

Yeah that would simplify things a lot and end all this confusion with reciprocity and applying for multiple permits. However you’re right that I don’t see it being passed by Congress any time soon. I personally think a good compromise would be a federal carry permit that is as strict as the strictest state when it comes to background check/prohibited persons but it is issued on a “shall issue” basis. Since NJ and other anti-2A states complain that if nationwide reciprocity is passed than the carry laws default to the laws of the least restrictive state. So I feel like having a federal option could be a good compromise, however probably never going to happen as well though.


vorfix

Just remembered seeing this when I just got my response from them. You might have another month to go. I sent them an email for the application on 8/2 and only a few minutes ago did I get an email response back that the application is "on its way". Might be exactly 2 months by the time the mail arrives.


PewPew247365

Someone posted that they recently sent in an older application that they had and got their $13 check/money order back for some fee that they don’t charge anymore. When you get the application, would you be able to update if there is any $13 fee? Edit Here’s the post https://reddit.com/r/CTguns/comments/pq461u/_/hea42sx/?context=1


PewPew247365

Finally got the email “on its way”.


njgunrights

Thanks. I actually already have the form to apply for the New Hampshire permit. If I got anything, I would probably get that one. So the New Hampshire application asks me to give a reason. Can I state self defense? Or do I have to state another reason?


Rhode15

If you look on the next page of the application it says **ALL LICENSE APPLICANTS PLEASE NOTE:** *A license to carry a loaded handgun may be issued for PROTECTION or ALL PROPER PURPOSES. One or more of these reasons must be noted on the application, in the space provided for reason(s) for which you make application to carry a pistol in New Hampshire.* So I assume either of those or self-defense is all you need to put down. NH is very permissive state and will issue unless they find a very good reason not to.


njgunrights

Yeah if anything I would go for New Hampshire and maybe throw Maine on for good measure. The Virginia one looks draconian.


Rhode15

Yeah, no one beats the New Hampshire’s application when it comes to simplicity and ease. Lucky all the ones I linked to are “shall issue” states and will issue unless you give them reason not to even if they do have long and complicated applications. So basically the opposite of New Jersey. However, if you do end up taking a basic training course, getting Maine would be beneficial since it will allow you to get [reciprocity](https://www.handgunlaw.us/states/maine.pdf) with Delaware where NH will not.


johnnyrockes

Got Virginia no probs a year or two ago, had Utah and florida, so just application and prints, and I had in Mayb two months


facxtz

I got mine in hand in PA in 20 minutes


rhyminreazon

Yes, that was the fastest one for me….that door has been closed for New Jersey residents now.


PuNiToDeLBroNx

Florida, Utah, Arizona. To my experience have been the easiest to obtain as long as you show competency.


vorfix

New Hampshire


CZis4Me

New Hampshire. Super easy, super quick. No prints, no live fire course. I’m not even sure they call your references.


TwistedNonsense

I received my Utah nonresident permit last month after completing the required course and submitting everything in late June. The Chief Range Safety Officer at my club has been a certified Utah instructor for many years. He handled everything, which made the whole process much smoother than if I'd tried to do it on my own.


questformadness

Just picked up my CCW FID from the US Territory of Guam. NRA Cert class, existing FID and $103 fee.


PewPew247365

The easy ones have been listed. To add on some information: Florida and Arizona accepts a hunter safety course ~~with live fire~~. You don’t need the NRA class, but it would be worth it if you have time and funds. PA is easy as well, but you need to find a county that will accept your non resident permit or FID. You will also need to show up to that county’s sheriff office to pay, get your photo taken and pickup the card.


Rhode15

Both Florida and Arizona accept hunter safety courses without live fire as proof of training. I used a hunter safety card to apply for both of them and never touched a gun in the class.


PewPew247365

That’s good to know. For some reason I thought I read “live fire” for both.


Rhode15

It might be because Florida does require live fire for their typical NRA training courses, however they make an exception for hunter safety courses. Arizona doesn’t make a differentiation either way though.


njgunrights

So New Hampshire is king as far as easy, there are no one state valid easy to get ones I can throw on top because why not?


Rhode15

Unfortunately NH is the only state where it is that easy to apply since NH is the only state that doesn’t require a training course. However once you take one, there are some others that aren’t too difficult like ME & AZ.


njgunrights

I wish these ccw sites also listed out of state hunting permits/fishing permits that let you carry while fishing. I saw Florida has permitless OC for fishing. I would probably be fishing if I went to these other states, so a list of states that let you carry a firearm fishing with a valid fishing license like Florida would be helpful but it seems to be overlooked information. I think my best option is to get a New Hampshire non resident then start researching and collecting out of state hunting/fishing permits that will give me some carry leeway where I want to fish.


Rhode15

I know the law you’re talking about in Florida which is pretty convenient since open carry is typically illegal in Florida. I don’t how common this type of exception is in other states, but here are three of the states I do know which have exceptions based on hunting/fishing/camping if you are going to create your own list: **South Carolina:** [16-23-20.](https://www.scstatehouse.gov/code/t16c023.php) *(4) licensed hunters or fishermen who are engaged in hunting or fishing or going to or from their places of hunting or fishing while in a vehicle or on foot;* **Washington state:** [RCW 9.41.060](https://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=9.41.060) *(8) Any person engaging in a lawful outdoor recreational activity such as hunting, fishing, camping, hiking, or horseback riding, only if, considering all of the attendant circumstances, including but not limited to whether the person has a valid hunting or fishing license, it is reasonable to conclude that the person is participating in lawful outdoor activities or is traveling to or from a legitimate outdoor recreation area;* **California:** [25640.](https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=PEN§ionNum=25640) *Section 25400 does not apply to, or affect, licensed hunters or fishermen carrying pistols, revolvers, or other firearms capable of being concealed upon the person while engaged in hunting or fishing, or transporting those firearms unloaded when going to or returning from the hunting or fishing expedition.*


njgunrights

Good post. I will research what other fishing licenses let you carry while fishing even without ccw.


PewPew247365

It’s $100 for the ccw. Only you would know how often you go to NH.


Rhode15

The New Hampshire permit wouldn’t actually give the OP any added benefit if he visits NH since they’ve gone completely constitutional carry and no longer require it anywhere in their law unlike some states that still do (ex. Maine). It’s mostly for use carrying in other nearby states that will honor it like Virginia and North Carolina.


RedditisRunByClowns

I thought PA doesn’t have non resident ccw


PewPew247365

It is possible to get a non-res PA LTCF/CCW. For NJ residents, it seems a bit murky trying to get a PA LTCF. You need to have a similar issued ID/License in your home state… a NJ FID isn’t a LTCF/CCW, but some counties loosely interpret it as an equivalent to obtain your PA non-res. https://www.pafoa.org/law/carrying-firearms/concealed-carry/non-residents/


XMoeMoeX

Utah


RedditisRunByClowns

Utah