T O P
DamonXWind

If you get used to this and do it in legacy (or commander but you don't have to worry about judge calls as much) you can get warnings because graveyard order can matter In modern there are no cards that care about graveyard order so people will often separate by type My favorite way is to maintain the order but spread the cards out either vertically in a normal deck or horizontally if it's a deck that uses the graveyard a lot like dredge


Kalron

What cards in legacy require graveyard order to remain the same?


jacqueman

[[Shallow Grave]]


MTGCardFetcher

[Shallow Grave](https://c1.scryfall.com/file/scryfall-cards/normal/front/d/5/d5c782cc-c951-4c6f-a93f-774ae6c1c214.jpg?1562721926) - [(G)](http://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?name=Shallow%20Grave) [(SF)](https://scryfall.com/card/mir/141/shallow-grave?utm_source=mtgcardfetcher) [(txt)](https://api.scryfall.com/cards/d5c782cc-c951-4c6f-a93f-774ae6c1c214?utm_source=mtgcardfetcher&format=text) ^^^[[cardname]] ^^^or ^^^[[cardname|SET]] ^^^to ^^^call


TrulyKnown

It's not necessarily about whether the cards are being played - as long as cards exist where it can matter, you are not allowed to rearrange your graveyard. As a fun sidenote, I've been told that the same actually applies in Modern to rearranging your deck while searching it, due to [[Panglacial Wurm]] existing in the format. I'm not familiar enough with the rules to know whether it's true or why, but if it is, I see people violating the rules constantly when tutoring and pulling out options they're considering.


MTGCardFetcher

[Panglacial Wurm](https://c1.scryfall.com/file/scryfall-cards/normal/front/0/6/063bb28b-5e32-4f31-a208-16b653edf413.jpg?1593275437) - [(G)](http://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?name=Panglacial%20Wurm) [(SF)](https://scryfall.com/card/csp/116/panglacial-wurm?utm_source=mtgcardfetcher) [(txt)](https://api.scryfall.com/cards/063bb28b-5e32-4f31-a208-16b653edf413?utm_source=mtgcardfetcher&format=text) ^^^[[cardname]] ^^^or ^^^[[cardname|SET]] ^^^to ^^^call


Kalron

I know that the cards existing means you can't alter the order of your graveyard regardless if they are presentin the match. I was wondering what cards require that rule in the first place. Also that wurm effect is really interesting. The rules seem kinda unclear to me because like if I'm fetching, I can search my library for a specific land card and if that requires me to pass a basic land or another land that I can fetch that I don'twant, that's not me finding the card I'm searching for. And the little rules bit for the Wurm says something like "you must find the Wurm before you find the card you are searching for." But does that mean that passing a Forest or a Swamp when fetching with Catacombs disqualifies me from playing wurm because I passed those cards even though I want overgrown tomb instead? You know what I mean? That's a really strange card but it seems like it could be fun lol just seems like something you'd have to be very familiar with the rules to use.


TrulyKnown

They used to do that sort of effect a decent amount. Off the top of my head, we have [[Nether Shadow]], [[Ashen Ghoul]], [[Death Spark]], and [[Spinning Darkness]]. Not played, but since someone could *theoretically* play them, there's the rule. And yes, the Wurm is one of the weirdest cards in the game, rules-wise. It looks simple enough when you read it, but it's very, very much not.


MTGCardFetcher

##### ###### #### [Nether Shadow](https://c1.scryfall.com/file/scryfall-cards/normal/front/1/1/11988c46-6d0c-46a8-85aa-8c6da72bfe30.jpg?1559592437) - [(G)](http://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?name=Nether%20Shadow) [(SF)](https://scryfall.com/card/me1/77/nether-shadow?utm_source=mtgcardfetcher) [(txt)](https://api.scryfall.com/cards/11988c46-6d0c-46a8-85aa-8c6da72bfe30?utm_source=mtgcardfetcher&format=text) [Ashen Ghoul](https://c1.scryfall.com/file/scryfall-cards/normal/front/6/5/65373ddc-7ca0-4284-be3c-ebdd09c1ccb3.jpg?1562869030) - [(G)](http://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?name=Ashen%20Ghoul) [(SF)](https://scryfall.com/card/me2/78/ashen-ghoul?utm_source=mtgcardfetcher) [(txt)](https://api.scryfall.com/cards/65373ddc-7ca0-4284-be3c-ebdd09c1ccb3?utm_source=mtgcardfetcher&format=text) [Death Spark](https://c1.scryfall.com/file/scryfall-cards/normal/front/7/7/778d3497-2067-4d61-a322-5efb776dbaf1.jpg?1562869493) - [(G)](http://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?name=Death%20Spark) [(SF)](https://scryfall.com/card/me2/123/death-spark?utm_source=mtgcardfetcher) [(txt)](https://api.scryfall.com/cards/778d3497-2067-4d61-a322-5efb776dbaf1?utm_source=mtgcardfetcher&format=text) [Spinning Darkness](https://c1.scryfall.com/file/scryfall-cards/normal/front/5/8/58e64a8e-84b1-416c-9fa7-8b10130dc9e9.jpg?1562800960) - [(G)](http://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?name=Spinning%20Darkness) [(SF)](https://scryfall.com/card/wth/81/spinning-darkness?utm_source=mtgcardfetcher) [(txt)](https://api.scryfall.com/cards/58e64a8e-84b1-416c-9fa7-8b10130dc9e9?utm_source=mtgcardfetcher&format=text) ^^^[[cardname]] ^^^or ^^^[[cardname|SET]] ^^^to ^^^call


Zigo

>But does that mean that passing a Forest or a Swamp when fetching with Catacombs disqualifies me from playing wurm because I passed those cards even though I want overgrown tomb instead? Nope! You can look at your whole library "all at once" while searching. Panglacial Wurm just needs to be cast before you choose something.


Kalron

Ah ok. That's really interesting.


xour

Some interactions like Nether Shadow and dredge, for instance.


xcver2

Also in pauper. For instance Death Spark


horsehome

Wow this is so irrelevant to the question. "If youre playing this format that you didn't ask about, please don't do this thing"


xour

I make piles of 4~5 cards stacked horizontally, then stack a new pile of 4~5 cards on top of that vertically, keeping the names visible at all times. I play a lot of Legacy, and learned to not mess around with graveyard order. I know in Modern it is not relevant, but I prefer to stick with the habit.


SteakAlfredo

This 100% is the best way


DailyAvinan

1) I do similar to what you do. Sometimes it helps to set aside one of each card type for quick reference. 2) If you have no other plays, buy Lurrus. If you have countermagic or removal you want to hold up then you need to weigh the pros and cons of holding it vs buying Lurrus. To help with this, familiarize yourself with the decks you face so you can recognize their play patterns and what turns are important for them. For example, you can't tap out if Hammer has an Aid and an Inkmoth in play. But you can if they have no creatures on the field. 3) If possible, always cast Expressive before you play your land for turn. You want to do this: - Best card to **hand** - Worst card to **Bottom** - Land to **Exile** This lets you play *that* land instead of one in your hand which puts you up two cards instead of one. Sometimes you can exile a 1mv spell if you've got enough mana already.


ryscott85

I agree with most of this but wanted to add that exiling bauble can sometimes be overlooked and is worth noting as well.


DailyAvinan

Oh, yes, of course. Good catch.


flowtajit

1. I don’t order my graveyard I just fan them out to find the cards with the types I need. 2. Just put lurrus in your hand, it’ll force an action pit of them and you’ll be up a card if he lands and gets something. Even reanimating a bad card in that boardstate is fine. 3. Casting it on 2 is wrong. You lose the exiled card 90% of the time. So hold your land on three or later and cast it. Always exile the land you want to play this turn and from that it’s effectively resolving a late sleight of hand.


kami_inu

The popular one I've seen at my LGS is to separate cards in piles of each type. Still have them to the side so it's clear what's battlefield/grave, but also so it's easy to identify what types you have in grave. The only hard and fast rule I'm aware of for setting out your cards is: * At higher level events, permanents in front of lands, and keeping those separate. (With allowance for mana rocks or similar to be back row) * Making it easy to identify which zone a given card is in, and attached permanents being physically close enough to be obvious. (And states like tapped/flipped/etc)


shr8m

I place the cards in my graveyard.


jwf239

It’s technically illegal to change the order of your gy. With enough practice you get to where you shouldn’t need to anyway.


gavlna

There is actually a rule saying you can reorder your grave freely if your format includes only sets printed after Uraz's Saga


Zaneysed

Only in formats where graveyard order cards exist. None exist in modern. Also, you really don't need to organize your stuff. You either have delirium or you don't. Once you have it you no longer need to check unless you have cards leave your yard.


horsehome

In modern, no it isn't.


MTGCardFetcher

##### ###### #### [expressive iteration](https://c1.scryfall.com/file/scryfall-cards/normal/front/3/1/31b770cc-09e7-4c0b-b2a4-462ab4f7200d.jpg?1627428991) - [(G)](http://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?name=expressive%20iteration) [(SF)](https://scryfall.com/card/stx/186/expressive-iteration?utm_source=mtgcardfetcher) [(txt)](https://api.scryfall.com/cards/31b770cc-09e7-4c0b-b2a4-462ab4f7200d?utm_source=mtgcardfetcher&format=text) [scavenging ooze](https://c1.scryfall.com/file/scryfall-cards/normal/front/4/8/487116ab-b885-406b-aa54-56cb67eb3ca5.jpg?1594737205) - [(G)](http://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?name=scavenging%20ooze) [(SF)](https://scryfall.com/card/m21/204/scavenging-ooze?utm_source=mtgcardfetcher) [(txt)](https://api.scryfall.com/cards/487116ab-b885-406b-aa54-56cb67eb3ca5?utm_source=mtgcardfetcher&format=text) [soul-guide lantern](https://c1.scryfall.com/file/scryfall-cards/normal/front/7/c/7c850b94-75c9-4457-8b5e-1193352d6fcb.jpg?1581481214) - [(G)](http://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?name=soul-guide%20lantern) [(SF)](https://scryfall.com/card/thb/237/soul-guide-lantern?utm_source=mtgcardfetcher) [(txt)](https://api.scryfall.com/cards/7c850b94-75c9-4457-8b5e-1193352d6fcb?utm_source=mtgcardfetcher&format=text) [relic of progenitus](https://c1.scryfall.com/file/scryfall-cards/normal/front/4/3/436cd66c-0622-43cd-8748-af4d21a2db3f.jpg?1580015265) - [(G)](http://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?name=relic%20of%20progenitus) [(SF)](https://scryfall.com/card/ema/231/relic-of-progenitus?utm_source=mtgcardfetcher) [(txt)](https://api.scryfall.com/cards/436cd66c-0622-43cd-8748-af4d21a2db3f?utm_source=mtgcardfetcher&format=text) [cling to dust](https://c1.scryfall.com/file/scryfall-cards/normal/front/5/2/52c2de5f-e486-4cfe-9fb6-be0078ce5f93.jpg?1581479717) - [(G)](http://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?name=cling%20to%20dust) [(SF)](https://scryfall.com/card/thb/87/cling-to-dust?utm_source=mtgcardfetcher) [(txt)](https://api.scryfall.com/cards/52c2de5f-e486-4cfe-9fb6-be0078ce5f93?utm_source=mtgcardfetcher&format=text) ^^^[[cardname]] ^^^or ^^^[[cardname|SET]] ^^^to ^^^call


doctor_wizzle

I spread my cards horizontally in groups of four or five and fan them in a way that I can look at them without being too obvious about it. Eyeballing thru your graveyard can be a tell


Cazemiro

I use my gy for Murktide / Snap, so I make 2 piles. Instants / Sorceries on the left, everything else on the right, stacked vertically so I can still read all the names.


Zigo

I fan them out horizontally in groups of 4-5 and then stack the groups so all the cards are visible while maintaining GY order, same as a lot of other people in the thread. No reason to maintain order in modern but I figure it's a good habit if I ever play legacy in paper. I'll also pick up the GY and re-fan relatively often throughout a game as a way to remind myself what's in there (for murktide) and whether I have delirium (for heat and DRC), because looking over at your GY during a key moment in a game when you're deciding whether to remove something or cast a creature is a tell that can give away a lot of information about your hand if your opponent is paying attention.


cl174

The graveyard interactions are not as memory intense as something like legacy dredge. I tend to try to just remember key aspects of the graveyard like Delirium yes/no or bauble yes or no. I think constantly reordering your graveyard sometimes calls too much attention to what your plan is. There have been multiple instances where I have cast a murktide for 3-4 mana because my opponent wasn’t paying attention and if I was constantly showing that I’m thinking about my graveyard I think the opponent is going to get antsy and pop a crypt/ relic earlier.


kmoneyrecords

I just line them up vertically with the names exposed, if the line gets too long I start a new one. From playing a lot of snapcaster mage, you can really be more sharky at high level tournaments by not having to check/reorganize your graveyard every time you draw a relevant graveyard card, good players will definitely make that read. Same idea behind delirium cards like unholy heat...if you draw a card then immediately check your graveyard that's a pretty big tell. By only having to glance at your graveyard, you can make an opponent forget you have kroxa in there, and plenty of other tiny advantages.