T O P

Evolving Wilds - Still Standard Legal?

Evolving Wilds - Still Standard Legal?

Nekusar-of-the-Wheel

It was printed in Ikoria.


GrompyGoat

So even if I use the ones with the M20 logo, they're still legal because they got a reprint in a later set?


Nekusar-of-the-Wheel

Yes. As long as itโ€™s reprinted in a Standard Legal set, you can use any copy of the card that you want.


Akhevan

Sit and strap down, this shit is gonna blow your mind: Nothing written on any piece of cardboard - physical or digital - has the least relevance for actually playing games of magic. The only function the cards serve is being proof of you owning the product, and to represent individual game pieces. The game is played to the Oracle card text and the latest edition of the rules. Keeping that in mind, it doesn't seem so bizarre anymore that you can use any printed edition of a card that's legal in a given format due to any other printing.


GrompyGoat

Whelp, time to re-evaulate the importance of some cards


Akhevan

Which is better, a $100 bill with a US president on it or a $100 bill with Urza?


pchc_lx

๐Ÿ™„


Akhevan

A fair price for a unique and irreplaceable game piece right?


hauksdottir

Urza is suitable for lining the bottom of a birdcage. No US President is as loathsome as a man who destroyed worlds with a snap of his fingers.


freelutri

Evolving Wilds was reprinted in Ikoria so it's legal in standard. Additionally it's one of the Arena starter set cards that will always be legal in Bo1 standard, even if it rotates out of traditional (Bo3) standard. (As long as the card is legal you can use any printing of it, including ones from sets not in standard anymore.)


GrompyGoat

Interesting, I had assumed you'd need to use the version with the most recent set icon to keep them legal. What's a little frustrating/confusing about that is if I set the filter to "standard legal", it removes evolving wilds as an option.


Nothing_Arena

That filter doesn't do what it says. It really means cards in standard legal sets. If you set your deck type to "standard", it will show all standard legal cards.


freelutri

Nope, the rules consider all printings of a card to be equivalent.


Mrfish31

>Interesting, I had assumed you'd need to use the version with the most recent set icon to keep them legal. Come on, magic is a game that exploits it's customers to an _absurd_ degree (***cough*** printing cards that have _always_ been commons like brainstorm and faithless looting at rare in the mystical archive and forcing Arena players to spend rare wild cards on them ***cough***), but not _that_ absurd! Any printing of a card is legal in a format provided it's been printed into that format at some point in time. When [[giant growth]] was legal last rotation, you could use a 28 year old version from the very first magic set ever and it would be legal. In modes like Pauper, where only common cards are allowed, you can use uncommon or rare cards provided they had been printed at common previously. For instance, [[Gray merchant of Asphodel]] was a common in the original Theros block about 6 years ago. In Theros beyond Death, it's an uncommon. Both versions can be played in pauper (though confusingly, you can't put merchant in an _Arena_ pauper deck because it hasn't been printed at common on arena.) Edit: also, even with your misconception evolving wilds would still be legal. Ikoria is a more recent set than M20 by about 10 months.


MTGCardFetcher

[giant growth](https://c1.scryfall.com/file/scryfall-cards/normal/front/0/6/06ec9e8b-4bd8-4caf-a559-6514b7ab4ca4.jpg?1557576917) - [(G)](http://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?name=giant%20growth) [(SF)](https://scryfall.com/card/war/162/giant-growth?utm_source=mtgcardfetcher) [(txt)](https://api.scryfall.com/cards/06ec9e8b-4bd8-4caf-a559-6514b7ab4ca4?utm_source=mtgcardfetcher&format=text) [Gray merchant of Asphodel](https://c1.scryfall.com/file/scryfall-cards/normal/front/7/c/7c1a7dd8-8034-4f59-a351-33666b26ff5a.jpg?1581479807) - [(G)](http://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?name=Gray%20merchant%20of%20Asphodel) [(SF)](https://scryfall.com/card/thb/99/gray-merchant-of-asphodel?utm_source=mtgcardfetcher) [(txt)](https://api.scryfall.com/cards/7c1a7dd8-8034-4f59-a351-33666b26ff5a?utm_source=mtgcardfetcher&format=text) ^^^[[cardname]] ^^^or ^^^[[cardname|SET]] ^^^to ^^^call


GrompyGoat

>Edit: also, even with your misconception evolving wilds would still be legal. Ikoria is a more recent set than M20 by about 10 months. I didn't know it was printed in Ikoria when I posed this question.


Capnkush420x

Same reason you can use m20 shock in standard. because it was reprinted in a standard legal set


Jtrain360

Evolving Wilds was reprinted in Ikoria. As long as the card was reprinted in a set currently in standard you can use your old versions in your decks.


Judge_Rod

Evolving Wilds was reprinted in *Ikoria*.