Home > Books > Highly Anticipated Sci-Fi Novel The Medusa Chronicles Is Here

Highly Anticipated Sci-Fi Novel The Medusa Chronicles Is Here

UK Book Cover image for The Medusa Chronicles

The Medusa Chronicles Further Explores Themes From Arthur C. Clark’s A Meeting With Medusa

If you are a fan of Arthur C. Clarke, one of the “Big Three” writers of science fiction (along with Robert Heinlein and Isaac Asimov), then you will definitely be interested in the just released The Medusa Chronicles. A sequel to Clarke’s novella A Meeting With Medusa, The Medusa Chronicles continues to explore themes developed in the novella while following the adventures of astronaut Howard Falcon.

The book is co-written by celebrated authors Stephen Baxter and Alastair Reynolds, with the permission of Clarke’s estate. Here’s the official synopsis:

Book cover for The Medusa ChroniclesFollowing an accident that almost cost him his life, Howard Falcon was not so much saved as he was converted, through the use of prosthetics, into something faster, stronger and smarter …but also slightly less human and more machine than he was. And with this change came an opportunity – that of piloting a mission into Jupiter’s atmosphere, and ultimately of making first contact with the life forms he discovers there. Picking up the threads of humanity versus artificial intelligences and machines, and of encounters with the alien, this collaborative novel between two superb writers is a sequel to Howard Falcon’s adventures. A proper science fiction adventure, this is perfect for fans of Golden Age SF as well as the modern SF reader.
Interestingly, this is not the first time Baxter has worked with Clarke’s writings before, having collaborated with the legendary Clarke first on a novel called The Light of Other Days, and then on the 3 book Time Odyssey series (Time’s Eye, Sunstorm, Firstborn) while Clarke was still alive.

Baxter and Reynolds have some big shoes to fill with this collaboration, but the book is being well received so far by readers and science fiction fans, including a starred review in Publisher’s Weekly.

Pick up a copy of The Medusa Chronicles over at Amazon.

Featured Image: Gollancz

You may also like
Indigo: Chris Colfer Makes a Glee-ful Return to TV with Sci-Fi Drama
cover of the collapsing empire by john scalzi
John Scalzi Discusses New Novel, ‘The Collapsing Empire’
A black hole - searching for the answer to 5 mysteries of the universe
5 Mysteries of the Universe and Sci-Fi That Has Tried to Solve Them
Artwork of a dystopic science fiction city - How To Become A Master of Writing Science Fiction
How To Become A Master of Writing Science Fiction

Leave a Reply